I Don't Eat My Friends











{13/10/2009}   Potato enchiladas

I have to say these were awsome! I took some to school the next day in my bento and the girl sitting next to me kept stealing some. Haha, but me and her were friends and I like seeing people enjoy my cooking, so it was alright.
Also I LOOOVE potatos. Prepared nearly anyway or even raw. So potato recipies from me will nearly ALWAYS be recomended. Its very easy to!

The sauce:
In a large sauce pan put about two tablespoons worth of oil (I use olive oil but whatever you have). After its heated throw in 1 chopped onion. After its nice and soft (about 5 minutes) mix in chili powder (two takes…roughly 2 teaspoons) 1 and 1/2 tsp cumin, 1 tsp oregano, 1 tsp sugar, 1-2tsp salt, 28 ounce can of diced tomatos, and some kind of hot peppers. Bring it to a simmer then remove from heat. Let it cool then place it in a blender until smooth (I had no blender so I used a hand blender…it came out a little chunky but it was fine)

The filling:
Peal and dice about a pound of potatos and boil them until soft. Drain and set aside. Take about three tablespoons oil and 4 cloves of minced garlic and put in a pot. Cook until garlic turns a light brown (stir occasionally). Add whatever vegetable you want (Kale, broccoli, anything be creative!) and a little salt. Raise heat and stir constantly until cover in oil and garlic. Then partially cover pot for 5 minutes.
Remove lid add potatos 1/4 or so (depending on the vegetables you added) cup of vegetable stock, 3 tablespoons (or to taste) lime juice, and salt. Mash the potatos and mix together. Cook until the stock is all absorbed.

Take some of the sauce and put it in a casorole dish. Put filling in tortillas roll and place in casorole dish. Cover with the rest of the sauce. Cover dish with aluminum foil and bake for 25 min at 375. Then (optional) remove foil and bake for another 15 min.

YUMMYNESS!

GOOD NEWS! I now have a blender!!! FINALLY! Whist digging through the basement for halloween decorations I stumbled upon one. Ive cleaned it up and it seems to be working fine. I couldnt be more thrilled! Just think of all the new recipies I can make now that require a blender!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
