I Don't Eat My Friends











{14/01/2010}   OMG SHE’S IN A BRA!…Oh Wait, Never Mind It’s Only A Bikini

Boy walks in on a girl in her bra and underwear. Boy gets slapped and called a pervert.

Boy walks in on a girl tryng on a bikini. Girls asks boy what he thinks. Girl and boy walk out to the swimming pool.

What do you notice about these two stories?

Ever since I was little (around the time I got my frist ‘training bra’ Oh dont get me started on those or I will be here ALL day) I have always questioned the bra and underwear VS the bikini.  Why was it NOT ok for someone to see you in your bra and underwear but it WAS ok for someone to see you in a bikini? They cover the same amount, they look the same (especially if you get a matching bra and panties set), and some bikinis are more revealing then a bra and a pair of underwear.
To me walking out and around in a bikini and then getting pissed at someone who sees you in your underwear seems a little hypocritical to me. Where is this line that tells us whats ok and whats “too far”?
Once when I was 7 or 8 I didnt have a swim suit. So, not wanting to miss out on the pool fun, I put on my matching flower training bra and panties. As I ran out the door my mom called out for me too come back…Acrtually she called while running and screaming, grabbed me, and dashed back into the house. Her cheeks were red as she told me I couldn’t leave the house in my underwear. “But why mama? It looks just like a bikini. So it’s a bikini today.”
“Nono dear, underwear is underwear! And should never be worn without clothes over it!” They way she looked, talked, and acted showed that she was incredibly embaressed and that I should be too. But I wasnt, I was just confused. Especially after she handed me a princess bikini she had bought for me and told me to change into it. They looked the same to me, but I did what Mama had asked.

As I reached the pool my neighbors (a boy and his sister) asked me “what happened to your pretty flower swim suit? I like that one better.”

Huh, I’ve really never thought about this before; but you’re really right!
I think it’s got more to do with the way bikinis and bras are socially perceived than with what they actually are. Of course, swimming in cotton stuff isn’t particulary convenient, but it has never hurt anyone.



Mvibes says:

Cotton isn’t the easiest to swim in, but there have been times when I (and others I know) have gone swimming in a tee shirt and short (denim…the enemy of swimming)



Leave a Reply

et cetera
